New Beginnings

Today is the first time since I left MSPD that I feel that I am getting somewhere. But before that, lets start about a week ago. …

After 4 years 1 month and 8 days, I left MSPD for the venture of a lifetime. I began my own law firm. Hernandez Law Firm, LLC located in Jefferson City, Missouri. Before that I was in the process, but not really (procrastination, a word that I hope will slowly creep out of my vocabulary and life) of preparing to leave the comfort of an established job. The problem was that the established job, wasn’t establishing a good financial foundation. THe best attorneys that I know work for MSPD, but it is a hard life.

I set up an email account, bought furniture, bought a new laptop (mac, I love it), registered with the IRS and Missouri DOR, set up a phone system and etc. THought I was on top. I can do this on my own. I will get throughout it if I have to bully my way through.

Well…. not so much. Money is an issue, being small and alone right now (my partner/wife is  of counsel, working full time somewhere else as well as being pregnant and a mother of a 16 year old and a 3 year old) is tough. Had problems with the phone system in this building. It took the phone company 3 days to find where the line went. They did a great job and apologized again and again. So now I have my phone up. My web site is a different matter.

Did I mention, that I am not that technologically advanced. I have Twitter and Facebook and this blog, but no website design savvy. Not to fear, after 5 days of frustration, the folks at GoDaddy.com called me. Yes thats right they called me to ask if I was having problems. After talking for about 10 minutes, they resolved my issues and had me feeling better about this adventure.  Thank you John, you made my day. Next time hopefully something more legal. Art

Leave a Reply

